L'enfer vert dans le monde rouge

EXPLORATION & EXPLOITATION ALLUVIALE
PHOTOGÉOLOGIE | SISMIQUE | FORAGE BANKA | GESTION | ENTRAINEMENT

Cliquez pour voir le profil professionnel


OR
  or
  chimie d'or
  gold transport
  gold production
Géologie d'Or
  dépôts
alluvionnaires

  dépôts primaires
  gold maps
Histoire d'Or
  traditions d'or
  primitive
  classique
  médiéval
  renaissance
  après-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  commerce des diamants
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  coupe du diamant
Histoire du diamand
  mining history
  grands et fameux
Images des Diamants
  images des diamants
Pierres Précieuses
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

EXPLORATION ALLUVIAL
  survey
Foreuses BANKA
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

EXPLOITATION ALLUVIAL
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photogéologie
sismique
gestion
profil professionel
photos
contact

LE DIAMANT English version

LES GRANDS ET CÉLÈBRES DIAMANTS

    Toutes les fois que possible, je fournis, dans les parenthèses, prix équivalents en dollars de USA d'aujourd'hui. Ces prix prennent compte d'inflation et sont basés sur les taux de change historiques disponibles. Le taux d'inflation est calculé sur la supposition que 1 once d'or a toujours la même valeur; seulement dû à une perte, avec le temps, de la valeur de monnaie on a besoin de plus d'argent pour acheter la même 1 once d'or.

Depuis la découverte des champs de diamant en Afrique du Sud, les grands diamants sont devenus moins rares; comme nous le verrons plus tard, pierres jusqu'à 150 carats ont été trouvés avec une fréquence comparative, pendant que quelques de plusieurs centaines de carats aussi ont été rencontrés là bas.
Sans doute, le diamant authentique le plus grand a étre découvert, là ou ailleurs, a été trouvé au Cape, en 1893, et a pesé 971 3/4 carats. Probablement le cristal le plus grand du diamant à être vu dans une collection publique est le diamant présenté au Musée Britannique par professeur John Ruskin; c'est un octahedron symétriquement développé qui pèse 129 2/3 carats.

La grandeur des diamants, comme de toutes les autres pierres précieuses, est estimée par leur poids exprimé en les carats. Il sera cependant, difficile pour le lecteur général de former une conception mentale correcte de la dimension d'une pierre donné connaissant son poids en carats seulement.
La figure ici montre les dimensions réelles des diamants qui pèsent 1, 10, 100, 500, et 1000 carats respectivement, chacun a la forme d'un octahedron régulier qui est fréquemment la forme la plus part du temps présenté par des cristaux de diamant.
Les grands Diamants
Fig. 1 Les grands Diamants (dimension réelle)

Dans cette section, au sujet des diamants les plus grands et plus célèbres, les figures sont donnés représentant les dimensions réelles de ces pierres, habituellement dans leur forme coupé, les plaque 4 et plaque 5, mais aussi dans quelques cas dans leur forme naturelle. La plaque 6 donne les dimensions réelles des brillants qui varie dans poids entre un et cent carats.

Il y a comparativement un petit nombre des diamants dans existence qui, à cause de leur dimension, beauté ou associations historiques et anciennes, possèdent un intérêt spécial. Pendant que l'origine et l'histoire de beaucoup de pierres dans existence au jour présent sont complètement inconnues, il y a autres de que comptes fiables et dessins sont donnés dans les écritures anciennes dont le lieu présent est entièrement inconnu; le dernier a pu être détruit ou a été perdu ou, de l'autre côté, ils peuvent se trouver caché dans les trésors de quelques princes Orientaux dont les prédécesseurs ont possédé un goût pour la collection des pierres précieuses.

Tous les plus vieux diamants célèbres de dimension grande et valeur énorme qui sont connu par les noms spéciaux, sont venus d'Inde; seulement dans les temps comparativement récents, à savoir, au milieu du dix-huitième siècle, les pierres de dimension remarquables ont été trouvées au Brésil, pendant que la découverte des diamants en Afrique du Sud était encore à venir. Les dépôts d'Afrique du Sud ont déjà donné plus des pierres plus grandes que le rendement global de l'Inde et du Brésil pendant centaines des années; ces pierres sont habituellement, cependant, d'une teinte jaunâtre, et ne sont pas, par conséquence, aussi hautement estimé comme les diamants bleu-blancs de l'Inde et du Brésil. Seulement quelques-uns de grand nombre de pierres grandes qui ont été trouvées en Afrique du Sud, en conséquence, ont reçu des noms distinctifs. La valeur de ces pierres rares est naturellement énorme, et ils trouvent habituellement une place parmi les bijoux de la couronne des pays différents, rarement entrant en la possession des individus privés, excepte dans le cas des collecteurs riches, surtout dans les pays de l'Est.

Le sujet des diamants célèbres est négocié spécialement avec dans un livre intitulé, Les Grands Diamants du Monde (Londres, 1882), par M. E. W. Streeter; aussi dans Les Diamants (Paris, 1886), par Monseigneur E. Boutan qui a fait une étude prudente de l'histoire embrouillée de chaque pierre. Beaucoup de l'information qui suit a été dérivée de ces sources, aussi bien que de plus vieux travaux. La plupart des diamants célèbres sont représentés dans leur condition coupée et dimension réelle dans plaque 4 et plaque 5; la forme de coupe, en général, est cela du brillant, mais les exemples des autres formes seront montrés.

Quelques-unes des pierres grandes, de que les comptes ont été rendus, ne sont probablement pas les diamants, mais des minéraux qui sont souvent confondu avec le diamant. Parmi ceux-ci est, dans toute la probabilité, le "Braganza", lequel, si authentique, classifiait comme le plus grand des diamants connus. Cette pierre qui est de la dimension de l'œuf d'une poule, et pèse 1680 carats, est venue du Brésil, mais la localité exacte est inconnue. Il est conservé avec les bijoux de la couronne portugaise, et n'est pas disponible pour l'examen détaillé; s'il a été prouvé d'être la topaze ce qu'il est très probablement, sa valeur tombera à un montant comparativement insignifiant.

Un autre grand diamant, l'authenticité de qui est ouverte à la spéculation, est une pierre qu'il y a long temps a appartenu au Rajah de Mattan, à Borneo; il est su comme le "Danau Rajah" là, mais s'est reporté généralement comme le "Mattan". Il pèse 367 carats, et, si c'est un diamant authentique, il est les plus grand trouvé à Borneo. Il est poire-façonné, de la dimension de l'œuf d'un pigeon, et est dite d'avoir été trouvé en 1787, dans le district de Landak, à Borneo de l'ouest; le nom "Danau Rajah", cependant, suggère le voisinage de la Rivière Danau, dans le sud-est de la île, comme une localité plus vraisemblable. La pierre est dit pour avoir été examiné à Pontianak, à Borneo, en 1868, quand elle a été déclarée pour être roc-cristal; cette décision est acceptée généralement, bien qu'il ait été affirmé qu'une imitation, et pas le vrai pierre, a été soumise pour l'examen.

L'authenticité des diamants décrit maintenant est incontestable; les pierres Indiens seront considérés en premier lieu, et après les Brésiliens et les Africains.

Les grands diamants indiens sont souvent supposés être de découverte très ancienne, la majorité, cependant, probablement ne date pas aux temps très anciens. Aucune information définitivement ne peut être glanée d'écritures anciennes, mais il est un fait bien-établi que les diamants en la possession des Romans étaient tout de petite dimension.

Probablement la plus grande des diamants indiens est le Grand Mogul, l'histoire de qui est très obscur. Cela a été vu dans la trésorerie du Grand Mogul, Aurungzebe, en 1665, par Tavernier qui a dessiné et décrit la pierre en détail. Ce diamant avait la forme d'une très haute et ronde rosette alors (plaque 4, Fig. 2), et était de la bonne eau. Il a pesé 319 ratis que Tavernier a calculé pour être équivalent à 280 carats, supposer 1 rati = 7/8 carat. Par autorités qui considèrent cette valeur du rati trop haut, l'équivalent est donné comme 188 carats. La pierre rugueux est supposé avoir été trouvé entre 1630 et 1650, dans les mines à Kollur, et avoir pesé 787 1/2 carats originairement, un poids qui le ferait indiscutablement le plus grand des diamants indiens.

La disparité considérable entre le poids de la pierre brute et son poids quand coupé, a été attribué à la manière maladroite qu'il a été coupé par Hortensio Borgis, le coupeur des diamants vénitien qui à ce temps a été domicilié en Inde. L'histoire subséquente du Grand Mogul est un vide complet; il a été supposé avoir été perdu ou été détruit, être dans existence sous un autre nom, tel que le diamant "Orloff" ou le "Koh-i-noor," être dans la possession du Chah de Perse, ou être oublié parmi les bijoux de quelque prince indien.

Un autre diamant grand du même poids, à savoir, 320 ratis, est décrit dans les mémoires de Baber, le fondateur de la dynastie des Mogul. D'après ce compte la pierre avait été célèbre en Inde longtemps, et avait formé partie des dépouilles de guerre de beaucoup d'un prince indien, finalement passant dans la possession de Baber en 1556. Ce pierre est considéré par professeur Story-Maskelyne comme être identique avec le diamant vu à Delhi, et a décrit comme la "Grand Mogul" par Tavernier, et identique avec la pierre à présent connu comme le "Koh-i-noor"; cette vue est généralement acceptée.

Le Koli-i-noor a été approprié en 1739 par le Chah du Nadir, le conquérant Persan de l'Empire des Mogul; en 1813 il est passé dans la possession du Rajah de Lahore, et après l'annexion Britannique du Punjab, est devenu la propriété de la Compagnie de Inde de l'Est qui en 1850 l'a présenté pour Reine Victoria. La pierre avait alors la forme d'une rosette irrégulière (plaque 4, Figues. 4a, 4b), avec les facettes nombreuses au-dessus, en dessous une surface de large clivage, et sur le côté une plus petite surface de clivage. Le poids de la pierre de coupe-indienne était 186 1/16 carats ce qui est en accord avec le poids de 320 ratis, enregistrés auparavant comme le poids de la pierre décrite par Baber il y a longtemps. Pour améliorer sa forme qui était très loin d'être parfaite, il a été ré-coupé en Angleterre en 1852 par le coupeur de diamant, Voorsanger, de l'entreprise Amsterdam de Coster; le travail de ré-coupage 'occupant trente-huit jours, de douze heures chacun.

Le "Koh-i-noor" est maintenant une pierre de beauté considérable, pesant 106 1/16 carats; sa nouvelle forme (plaque 4, Figues. 5a, 5b, 5c) est, cependant, trop mince pour être un parfait brillant; de plus, il n'est pas de l'eau la plus pure, et la couleur est légèrement grisâtre. Malgré ces taches il a été évalué à £100,000 ($11,125,244). La question comme à l'identité de la "Grand Mogul" avec le "Koh-i-noor" peut être décidé à peine maintenant. Tennant les a regardés comme identique, et a suggéré que "Koh-i-noor" et "Orloff" sont les deux parties de la pierre rugueux de 787 carats, mentionnées par Tavernier, et que les troisièmes et restante portion est la plaque de diamant qui pèse 132 carats, souvent mentionné comme eu été pris par Abbas Mirza avec autres bijoux de Reeza Kuli Khan à la capture de Coocha, dans Khorassan. Tennant a construit les modèles de ces portions séparées dans le fluorspar, un minéral qui a le même clivage octahedr comme le diamant, et par assemblant ensemble les portions il est arrivé à la conclusion que la pierre brute avait la dimension de l'œuf d'une poule, la forme d'un dodecahedron rhombique, et un poids d'environ 793 carats qui sont d'accord avec le compte de Tavernier.

Les opinions sont aussi différentes à propos de la dérivation du nom "Koh-i-noor," lequel est dit pour signifier quelquefois "Montagne de Lumière," et est supposé avoir été donné à la pierre par Nadir Chah. Il a aussi été supposé être une corruption de Kollur, la localité à qu'il a été trouvé, et le nom par qu'il est dit pour avoir été connu autrefois en l'Inde.

L'Orloff était le plus grand des diamants compris dans les bijoux de l'ancienne couronne russes, et formait la terminaison du sceptre impérial; il est une pierre de l'eau la plus fine, parfaitement pure et avec un éclat brillant. Sa forme (plaque 4, Figues. 1a, 1b, 1c) est très semblable à cela que Tavernier a dessiné du "Grand Mogul", une presque rosette hémisphérique bornée sur le côté inférieur par une surface de clivage, comme était le cas avec la coupe-indienne "Koh-i-noor". Sa hauteur est 10 lignes, son plus grand diamètre 15 1/2 lignes, et son poids 194 3/4carats. Ce pierre a eu une carrière changeante; il est dit à un temps pour avoir formé un des yeux d'une idole dans le temple Brahmin sur l'île de Sheringha In, dans la rivière Cauvery proche de Trichinopoly. Il a été volé de là, au commencement du dix-huitième siècle, par un soldat français, passé dans les mains du capitaine d'un bateau anglais, et ainsi été trouvé son chemin en Europe, et en 1791 a été acheté à Amsterdam (être sur ce compte connu comme le diamant "Amsterdam" quelquefois) par Prince Orloff pour l'Impératrice Catherine II de Russie pour la somme de 1,400,000 florins hollandais.

Il y a une histoire à l'effet que ce pierre est entré dans la possession de la couronne russe à travers d'un Arménien, nommé Schafras; cette histoire probablement, cependant, ne s'applique pas à "Orloff" mais à un autre grand diamant qui était dans les bijoux de la couronne russe, à savoir, la "Lune des Montagnes". Ce diamant qui pèse 120 carats, est devenu le butin de Nadir Chah qui l'a utilisé pour la parure de son trône. A son assassinat, il a été volé avec les autres bijoux par un soldat afghan, de qui il est passé dans la possession d'Arménien Schafras. Le dernier l'a vendu en 1775 à Catherine II pour 450,000 roubles ($7,731,625), une annuité de 4,000 roubles ($68,725), et les lettres de noblesse.

La Étoile Polaire, un beau brillant de 40 carats (plaque 5, Fig. 15), aussi appartenait à la couronne russe, comme la pierre étrangement façonné connu comme le Chah. Ce dernier pierre a été présenté en 1829 au Tsar Nicholas par le prince Persan, Chosroes, le plus jeune fils d'Abbas Mirza. Il est de l'eau la plus pure et dans forme un prisme très irrégulier (plaque 4, Figues. 3a, 3b), 1 pouce 5 1/2 lignes longues et 8 lignes large dans la partie la plus épaisse. Les limites de la pierre sont en partie le clivage et en partie les facettes artificiellement coupées; sur trois faces les noms de trois rois Persans sont gravés, afin le "Chah" un rare exemple des diamants gravés. Le professeur Gustav Rose qui a vu la pierre après qu'il a été apporté à St. Petersburg, a donné le poids comme 88 carats, mais ce n'est pas d'accord avec une information subséquente à l'effet que la pierre a été ré-coupé et son poids a réduit de 95 à 86 carats, les inscriptions intéressantes se sont perdues dans le processus.

Un autre diamant a gravé est le Akbar Chah, ainsi appelé par son premier propriétaire, la Grand Mogul, Akbar; quand en la possession de Jehan, le successeur d'Akbar, les inscriptions arabes ont été gravées sur deux de ses faces. Il a disparu pour une longue période pour réapparaître en Turquie, par la suite, sous le nom de la "Pierre de Berger," comparativement récemment, et encore reconnaissable comme le "Akbar Chah" par ses inscriptions arabes. En premier lieu, il a pesé 116 carats, mais après être ré-coupé en 1866 son poids a été réduit à 71 ou 72 carats et les inscriptions ont été perdu dans le processus. En 1867 la pierre a été vendu au Gaikwar de Baroda pour £35,000 ($3,802,928).

Un de plus grand des diamants indiens est le Nizam, un pierre de 277 carats qui ont été connus depuis 1835 seulement, et laquelle est supposée avoir été trouvé par un enfant par terre dans le voisinage de Golconda. Cependant, ce n'est pas la seule version de la découverte de cette pierre, et son poids original a été placé à 440 carats; le diamant était dans la possession du Nizam de Haidarabad.

La Grande Table, de Tavernier, a été vue en 1642 à Golconda par ce voyageur qui a rapporté qu'il a pesé 242 3/16 carats, et qu'il était le diamant le plus grand il avait vu en Inde dans les mains des revendeurs. Son offre de 400,000 roupies pour la pierre a été repoussée et, comme dans le cas du "Grand Mogul" son histoire subséquente est obscure.

Le Chah de Perse était dans la possession de deux grands diamants de quels aussi très peu est connu. Un de ceux-ceux, le Darya-i-noor (Mer de Lumière), pèse 186 carats, et l'autre, Taj-e-mah (Couronne de la Lune), pèse 146 carats. Les deux sont de l'eau la plus pure et autrefois coupés comme rosettes installées une paire des bracelets.

[ LA PROCHAINE PAGE


Les liens associés: ~EN ARRIÈRE PAGE SUIVANTE

RECOMMANDEZ CETTE PAGE:

Sismique 


Rafal Swiecki, ingénieur géologue contacte par courriel

Ce document est dans le domaine publique.

March, 2011

Green hell in red world

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION & MINING
PHOTOGEOLOGY | SEISMIC SURVEY | BANKA DRILLING | MANAGEMENT | TRAINING

Click to see a professional profile


GOLD
  gold
  gold chemistry
  gold transport
  gold production
Gold Geology
  alluvial deposits
  primary deposits
  gold maps
Gold History
  gold lore
  primitive
  classic
  medieval
  renaissance
  post-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  diamond trade
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  diamond cutting
Diamonds History
  mining history
  large and famous
Diamond Pictures
  diamond pictures
Precious Stones
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION
  survey
BANKA Alluvial Drills
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

ALLUVIAL MINING
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photo geology
seismic survey
field manager
profile
photos
contact

DIAMOND la version française

LARGE AND FAMOUS DIAMONDS.

    Whenever possible, I provide, in parentheses, today's equivalent prices in US dollars. These prices take account of inflation and are based on available historical exchange rates. The inflation rate is calculated on the assumption that 1 oz. of gold has always the same value; only due to a loss, with time, of currency value it takes more money to buy the same 1 oz. of gold.

Since the discovery of the South African diamond-fields, large diamonds have become less rare; as we shall see later on, stones up to 150 carats in weight have been found there with comparative frequency, while not a few of several hundred carats have been met with. The largest undoubtedly genuine diamond ever discovered, either here or elsewhere, was found at the Cape, in 1893, and weighed 971 3/4 carats. Probably the largest crystal of diamond to be seen in a public collection is the diamond presented to the British Museum by Professor John Ruskin; this is a symmetrically developed octahedron weighing 129 2/3 carats.

The size of diamonds, as of all other precious stones, is estimated from their weight expressed in carats. It will be however, difficult for the general reader to form a correct mental conception of the size of a given stone from its weight in carats alone, hence the figure shows the actual sizes of diamonds weighing 1, 10, 100, 500, and 1000 carats respectively, each having the form of a regular octahedron, which is the form most frequently presented by crystals of diamond.
Large Diamonds
Fig.1 Large Diamonds (Actual size)

In this section about the larger and more famous diamonds, figures are given representing the actual sizes of these stones, usually in their cut form, Plate 2 and Plate 5, but in a few cases in their rough form. Plate 6 gives the actual sizes of brilliants varying in weight between one and one hundred carats.

There are a comparatively small number of diamonds in existence which, either on account of their size, beauty, or historic and ancient associations, possess a special interest. While the origin and early history of many stones in existence at the present day is a complete blank, there are others, of which reliable accounts and drawings are given in ancient writings, whose present whereabouts is entirely unknown; the latter may have been destroyed or lost, or, on the other hand, they may lie hidden in the treasure-houses of some Oriental princes, whose predecessors possessed a taste for the collection of gems.

All the older famous diamonds of large size and enormous value, which are known by special names, come from India; only in comparatively recent times, namely, about the middle of the eighteenth century, have stones of remarkable size been found in Brazil, while the discovery of the South African diamonds was still later. The South African deposits have already yielded more large stones than are comprised in the aggregate yield of India and Brazil during hundreds of years; these stones are usually, however, of a yellowish tinge, and are, in consequence, less highly valued than are the blue-white diamonds of India and Brazil. Only a few of the many large stones, which have been found in South Africa, have, in consequence, received distinctive names. The value of these rare stones is naturally enormous, and they usually find a place amongst the crown jewels of different countries, rarely entering the possession of private individuals except in the case of wealthy collectors, especially in eastern countries.

The subject of famous diamonds is specially dealt with in a book entitled, The Great Diamonds of the World (London, 1882), by Mr. E. W. Streeter; also in Le Diamants (Paris, 1886), by Mons. E. Boutan, who has made a careful study of the tangled history of each stone. Much of the information given in the account, which follows, has been derived from these sources, as well as from older works. Most of the well-known famous diamonds are figured in their cut condition and actual size in Plate 4. and Plate 5.; the form of cutting most general is that of the brilliant, but Examples of other forms will be found.

A few of the large stones, of which accounts have been given, are very probably not diamond at all, but some one of the minerals with which diamond is often confused. Among these is, in all probability, the "Braganza", which, if genuine, would rank as the largest of known diamonds. This stone, which is the size of a hen's egg, and weighs 1680 carats, came from Brazil, but the exact locality is unknown. It is preserved with the Portuguese crown jewels, and is not available for detailed examination; should it be proved to be topaz, which is very probably what it is, its value would at once sink to a comparatively insignificant amount.

Another large diamond, the genuineness of which is open to question, is a stone long ego belonging to the Rajah of Mattan, in Borneo; it is known there as the "Danau Rajah", but is generally referred to as the "Mattan". It weighs 367 carats, and, if a genuine diamond, is by far the largest ever found in Borneo. It is pear-shaped, and about the size of a pigeon's egg, and is said to have been found in 1787, in the district of Landak, in western Borneo; the name "Danau Rajah", however, suggests the neighbourhood of the River Danau, in the south-east of the island, as a more probable locality. The stone examined at Pontianak, in Borneo, in 1868, when it was declared to be rock crystal; this decision is generally accepted, although it has been stated that an imitation, and not the real stone, was submitted for examination.

The genuineness of the diamonds now to be described is unquestionable; of these the Indian stones will be first considered, and afterwards the Brazilian and the South African.

The large Indian diamonds are often supposed to be of very ancient discovery, the majority, however, probably do not date back to very early times. No definite information can be gleaned from ancient writings, but it is a well-established fact that the diamonds in the possession of the Romans were all of small size.

Probably the largest of Indian diamonds is the Great Mogul, the history of which is very obscure. This was seen in the treasury of the Great Mogul, Aurungzebe, in 1665, by Tavernier, who both drew and described the stone in detail. This diamond had then the form of a very high and round rosette (Plate 4., Fig. 2), and was of good water. It weighed 319 ratis, which Tavernier calculated to be equivalent to 280 carats, assuming 1 rati = 7/8 carat. Authorities, which consider this value of the rati too high, give the equivalent as 188 carats. The rough stone is supposed to have been found between 1630 and 1650, in the mines at Kollur, and to have originally weighed 787 1/2 carats, a weight which would make it unquestionably the largest of Indian diamonds.

The considerable disparity between the weight of the rough stone and its weight when cut, has been attributed to the unskilful manner in which it was cut by Hortensio Borgis, the Venetian diamond-cutter, who at that time was domiciled in India. The subsequent history of the "Great Mogul is a complete blank; it has been variously supposed to have been lost or destroyed, to be in existence under another name, such as the "Orloff" diamond, or the "Koh-i-noor," to be in the possession of the Shah of Persia, or to be lying forgotten among the jewels of some Indian prince.

Another large diamond of the same weight, namely, 320 ratis, is described in the memoirs of Baber, the founder of the Mogul dynasty. According to this account the stone had long been famous in India, and had formed part of the spoils of war of many an Indian prince, finally passing into the possession of Baber in 1556. This stone is regarded by Professor Story-Maskelyne as being identical with the diamond seen at Delhi, and described as the "Great Mogul" by Tavernier, and identical with the stone at present known as the "Koh-i-noor"; this view is very generally accepted.

Nadir Shah, the Persian conqueror of the Mogul Empire, appropriated The Koli-i-noor in 1739; in 1813 it passed into the possession of the Rajah of Lahore, and after the British annexation of the Punjab, became the property of the East India Company, which in 1850 presented it to Queen Victoria. The stone had then the form of an irregular rosette (Plate 4, Figs. 4a, 4b), with numerous facets above, below a broad cleavage surface, and on the side a second smaller cleavage surface. The weight of the Indian-cut stone was 186 1/16 carats, which agrees closely with the weight of 320 ratis, recorded long before as the weight of the stone described by Baber. In order to improve its form, which was very far from perfect, it was re-cut in England in 1852 by the diamond-cutter, Voorsanger, of the Amsterdam firm of Coster; the work of re-cutting occupying thirty-eight days, of twelve hours each.

The "Koh-i-noor" is now a stone of considerable beauty, weighing 106 1/16 carats; its new form (Plate 2 Figs. 5a, 5b, 5c) is, however, too thin for a perfect brilliant; moreover, it is not of the purest water, and the colour is slightly greyish. In spite of these blemishes it is valued at £100,000 ($11,125,244). The question as to the identity of the "Great Mogul" with the "Koh-i-noor" can scarcely now be decided. Tennant regarded them as identical, and suggested that the "Koh-i-noor" and the "Orloff" are both parts of the rough stone of 787 carats, mentioned by Tavernier, and that the third and remaining portion of it is the plate of diamond weighing 132 carats, often mentioned as having been taken by Abbas Mirza with other jewels from Reeza Kuli Khan at the capture of Coocha, in Khorassan. Tennant constructed models of these separate portions in fluor-spar, a mineral which has the same octahedral cleavage as diamond, and by piecing the portions together arrived at the conclusion that the rough stone had the size of a hen's egg, the form of a rhombic dodecahedron, and a weight of about 793 carats, which agrees closely with Tavernier's account.

Opinions differ also as to the derivation of the name "Koh-i-noor," which is sometimes said to signify "Mountain of Light," and is supposed to have been given to the stone by Nadir Shah. It has also been supposed to be a corruption of Kollur, the locality at which it was found, and the name by which it is formerly known in India.

The Orloff was the largest of the diamonds comprised in the Russian crown jewels, and formed the termination of the imperial sceptre; it is a stone of the finest water, perfectly pure and with a brilliant lustre. In form (Plate 2, Figs. 1 a, 1b, 1c) it is very similar to that of Tavernier's drawing of the "Great Mogul", being an almost hemispherical rosette bounded on the lower side by a cleavage surface, as was the case with the Indian-cut "Koh-i-noor." Its height is 10 lines, its greatest diameter 15 1/2 lines, and its weight 194 3/4 carats. This stone has had a chequered career; it is said at one time to have formed one of the eyes of an idol in the Brahmin temple on the island of Sheringha In, in the Cauvery River near Trichinopoly. It was stolen from here, at the beginning of the eighteenth century, by a French soldier, passed into the hands of an English ship's captain, and so found its way into Europe, and in 1791 was bought in Amsterdam (being on this account sometimes known as the "Amsterdam" diamond) by Prince Orloff for the Empress Catharine II of Russia for the sum of 1,400,000 Dutch florins.

There is a story to the effect that this stone came into the possession of the Russian crown through an Armenian, named Schafras; this story probably, however, applies not to the "Orloff" but to another large diamond in the Russian crown jewel, namely, the Moon of the Mountains. This diamond, which weighs 120 carats, became the booty of Nadir Shah, who used it for the adornment of his throne. At his assassination, an Afghan soldier, from whom it passed into the possession of the Armenian Schafras, stole it with other jewels. The latter sold it in 1775 to Catharine II for 450,000 roubles ($7,731,625), an annuity of 4,000 roubles ($68,725), and letters of nobility.

The Polar Star, a beautiful brilliant of 40 carats (Plate 5., Fig. 15), also belonged to the Russian crown, as did the peculiarly shaped stone known as the Shah. The Persian prince, Chosroes, the younger son of Abbas Mirza, presented this latter stone in 1829 to the Czar Nicholas. It is of the purest water and in form a very irregular prism (Plate 4, Figs. 3a, 3b), 1 inch 51/2 lines long and 8 lines wide in the thickest part. The boundaries of the stone are partly cleavage faces and partly artificially cut facets; on three of the latter the names of three Persian kings are engraved, so that the "Shah" is one of the few Examples of engraved diamonds. Professor Gustav Rose, who saw the stone soon after it was brought to St. Petersburg, gave the weight as 88 carats, but this does not agree with a subsequent statement to the effect that the stone has been re-cut and its weight reduced from 95 to 86 carats, the interesting inscriptions being lost in the process.

Another engraved diamond is the Akbar Shah, so called from its first possessor, the Great Mogul, Akbar; when in the possession of Jehan, Akbar's successor, Arabic inscriptions were engraved on two of its faces. It subsequently disappeared for a long period, reappearing in Turkey, under the name of the "Shepherd's Stone," comparatively recently, and still recognisable as the "Akbar Shah" by its Arabic inscriptions. It at first weighed 116 carats, but after re-cutting in 1866 its weight was reduced to 71 or 72 carats and the inscriptions were lost in the process. In 1867 the stone was sold to the Gaikwar of Baroda for £35,000 ($3,802,928).

One of the largest of Indian diamonds is the Nizam, a stone of 277 carats, which has been known only since 1835, and which is supposed to have been picked up by a child on the ground in the neighbourhood of Golconda. This, however, is not the only version of the discovery of this stone, and its original weight has been placed at 440 carats; it was supposed to be in the possession of the Nizam of Haidarabad. The Great Table, of Tavernier, in 1642 at Golconda by this traveller, who states that it weighed 242 3/16 carats, and that it was the largest diamond he had seen in India in the hands of dealers. His offer of 400,000 rupees for the stone was rejected and, as in the case of the "Great Mogul" its subsequent history is obscure.

The Shah of Persia was in the possession of two large diamonds of which also very little is known. One of these, the Darya-i-noor (Sea of Light), weights 186 carats, and the other, Taj-e-mah (Crown of the Moon), weighs 146 carats. Both are of the purest water and cut as rosettes formerly set in a pair of armlets.

[ NEXT PAGE ]
Diamonds: Large and Famous   Properties   Geology and Mining Diamond Cutting Diamond trade


Related links:
Recomend this page:


Seismic Survey 


Rafal Swiecki, geological engineer email contact

This document is in the public domain.

March, 2011